Final Reshuffle of cabinet

  • September 5, 2017
  • 1:25 pm
  • Shourya Gandhi

Final reshuffle of cabinet before the 2019 general election. Nine new ministers have been introduced in modi government today. They are representing various professional and social backgrounds. Nine ministers comprising of three former bureaucrats, one top cop and BJP lawmakers from five states.

The new nine ministers were sworn in by president Ram Kumar kovind at Rashtrapati bhavan, Delhi on 3rd September 2017 Sunday morning.

Four ministers of the Modi government were elevated to full cabinet ministers: Piyush Goyal, who served as the Minister of State for Power, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, and Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of State for Commerce and Dharmendra Pradhan, Minister of State for Petroleum & Natural Gas.

The cabinet also had two vacancies after M Venkaiah Naidu exited to become Vice President and following the death of Anil Madhav Dave, who had served as the environment minister.

It was widely expected that the reshuffle would include lawmakers from the Janata Dal United JD (U) led by Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who recently came out in favour of the BJP after breaking his alliance with the Congress Party and Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). Shiva Sena, which has one seat in the cabinet, had reportedly objected to JD (U) being offered two seats. In the end, neither party could be accommodated. Shiv Sena’s only minister at the Centre, Anant Geete, did not attend the swearing-in ceremony today.